Tuesday, 7 June

Yesterday Fraser got an invitation to his schools ‘Executive Dean’s Awards Ceremony’ as he came top of his class in three out of four of his courses last semester. I’m incredibly proud and very excited to go and see him accept his awards. In lieu of this we are going to try to be extra healthy for the next 10 days (no more brownies sadly), as June 17th is the big night.

Yesterday we’d planned on the chicken salad route. Originally we were going to have a chicken caesar, but after the news I switched up the menu. I found a rosemary chicken salad recipe that sounded really good on skinnytaste (probably my favourite website these days) and decided to give it a whirl with a couple of modifications. This salad had bacon in it which, while delicious, was deemed unnecessary by me. I also decided to brine the chicken before hand and make up my own marinade for it since the recipe had called for it to be cooked in the bacon fat (yum).

I learned about brining from a chicken sandwich recipe I did a while back and I was impressed at how much juicier the chicken had turned out. Most brining is recommended as an overnight thing, but this guy had a thirty minute timeline for his which suited me. 8 cups of water with 1/3 c salt and 1/4 c sugar, mix it until dissolved, insert raw chicken and stick in the fridge. For the marinade I mixed a small amount of olive oil, Dijon mustard, salt and rosemary. I covered my pan in a thin layer of coconut oil and then set it to cooking.

While this cooked I finished the salad. Romaine, arugula, tomato, red onion and avocado with a light mixture of olive oil, red wine vinegar, Dijon, salt and rosemary as dressing.

IMG_0582

Throw it all together when the chicken is hot off the pan and prepare to ingest some perfection. I love rosemary, so I may be biased towards this meal, but it’s one of my favourites so far.

IMG_0588
the finished product

Now to figure out what I’m making tonight….

 

Rosemary Chicken Salad with Avocado and Bacon

One thought on “Tuesday, 7 June

Leave a Reply

