Monday, 6 June

Yesterday was a cleaning and homework day for us here, so not too much excitement to report. But when we went out on Saturday morning to stock up for the storm we also planned out our Sunday dinner. This meal has been a repeat for us since I got here as Fraser is a big fan. It’s my dad’s specialty of vegetarian burritos. I’ve been eating these since I was a kid and they’re simple and amazing. The two twists I’ve put on them since making them here are good and bad. The good one is that I’ve been making my own refried beans instead of buying the canned ones. The bad is that we’ve omitted sour cream. Yes, this is healthier, but for someone who’s heritage is half Russian (me), this is slightly devastating. My mother will feel my pain on this. But, alas, life goes on.

For the refried beans I sauté a diced white onion and 4 crushed cloves of garlic in oil until the onions are clear and soft. Then add about a tbsp of cumin and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper (ours is really hot so I keep it minimal). Then add two drained cans of black beans. Cook between 10-20 minutes then mash everything until smooth, or however much you want.

IMG_0536
we like’em pretty smooth

Fraser prepped all our veggies while I was doing the beans. Iceberg lettuce is what my dad always used, diced up it adds good crunch. Also dice up 2 tomatoes. You want the veggies small because these burritos get big real fast. Fraser also made up some guacamole using an avocado, red onion, salt, pepper and lime juice. Grate up some mozzarella and then you’re ready to go. Spread the refried beans onto tortillas (if you can find the extra-large ones, they make it easier) and then sprinkle your cheese over this. This then goes straight into a hot oven until the cheese is all melted. This also makes the wraps a bit toasty which is lovely.

Load them with your toppings and then add chunky salsa, hot sauce (optional) and sour cream (if you’re lucky). I used to force my father to wrap my burrito up for me, even as an adult. Now living without him I am forced to do it myself. The three of us eating burritos was like the story about Goldilocks and the three bears. My mom’s plate was always covered in leaking salsa and sour cream as well as bits of escaped lettuce and tomato. My plate was usually only salsa and sour cream (due to the professional Jack wrap-job). And my fathers plate looked like it was fresh out of an industrial dishwasher. I’ve never seen someone eat a burrito so cleanly. It still boggles my mind.

Fraser is bold in his burrito eating style. He wraps it and then picks it right up with his hands. I am not so brave and use my fork and knife, forever trying to emulate my fathers clean plate. From the evidence above (two bites in), you can see I’m not quite there.

One thought on “Monday, 6 June

Leave a Reply

