Thursday, 26 May

It’s just after 6pm on Thursday. Fraser has a late class today and there’s a lot of traffic, so he’s later than usual. Everything is ready to go for dinner and my stomach is getting demanding. So I’m blogging about it. This is something that is taking me some time to relax into. Something about it feels obnoxious for me, so if you’re reading this you’ve probably heard about it from my mom…thanks mom. Or you’ve bullied me into giving you the link…thanks Suz.

The other day Fraser found a healthier version of caesar salad dressing online and we decided to try it out. Caesar salad is not my number one jam, but I like it on occassion…if the dressing is good.

So I’m picky about dressing, but I loved this one. It’s probably not for everyone, but for us, it worked. We filled a bowl with two heads of romaine lettuce that I coarsely grated parmesan over. Fraser grilled two big pieces of salmon with salt and pepper on our stove top. When the salmon was almost done he broke it up into smaller, more salad sized pieces. This gave more edges of the salmon that crispy grilled taste which is nice.

IMG_1474
breaking up the salmon

 

The dressing is just 1/4 c lemon juice, 1/3 c finely grated parmesan, 2 cloves squeezed garlic, 2 anchovies filets finely diced, 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard, 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, and 5 tbsp plain greek yogurt. The recipe called for it to be all blended in a mixer, but we skipped that for a chunkier dressing. [After making it a second time we decided that less lemon juice is preferable, but that’s just us]

I don’t know if we were just really hungry or if the salmon/dressing was that good, but I’ve never seen two people devour a huge salad so fast. We were scraping that bowl clean very quickly after sitting down.

So this morning was Fraser’s late class which is an annoying one for him. He has to wait around for school to happen and it’s his last class of the week and he has to drive home in the dark and it’s rush hour. I forgot how early the sun sets here. It starts getting dark around 5 and it’s now pitch black. Also, in our area, there are almost no street lights on the highway. A very different experience than driving in the greater Vancouver area. I do not like it one bit. And Australians seem to be quite keen on their high beams here.

In lieu of all this, Fraser said yes to my offer of pancakes as a late breakfast. He then asked if we could try it in the rice cooker. The rice cooker…this has been discussed. Fraser had heard about people cooking pancakes in rice cookers. He suggested this when I made pancakes on my second day here. I told him I would not be doing that, but he was more than welcome to. It’s been discussed with each subsequent use of the rice cooker. So today I told him I’d make the batter and then I’d split it and he could try this out. I was only halfway through my first cup of coffee, which means I was not in a creative kitchen mood. Also, I have to admit, I’ve been a little skeptical about this rice cooker pancake business since the start.

IMG_1457
my boring pan pancake with fruit compote

 

Well I can admit I was definitely proven wrong. While different from a typical pancake, the rice cooker pancake was really good! It was a bit more dense (I prefer fluffy pancakes usually), crispy-er on the bottom than on the top, but really quite good. And this was the first attempt! I can’t believe I’d never heard of it, but I love it.

I’d made fruit compote for the pancakes, as I like to eat mine with fruit and yogurt, something I’ve definitely inherited from my mother (thank you Russian heritage). So we ended up with extra compote. I took this and mixed it with greek yogurt and froze it in a popsicle tray. There is something about frozen food that reminds me of dessert. Maybe it is the fact that there are few healthy treats or main courses that come frozen. But the frozen aspect of things makes them more exciting to me. We shared one after dinner and it was good. More on the sour side, which I enjoyed. On the plus side it can be eaten as breakfast.

I may have also made chocolate strawberries, as I was in need of a bit of dark chocolate. I made white chocolate dipped for Fras as he is from outer space (aka male) and prefers white chocolate to real chocolate.

YES! I am judgemental about that. White chocolate is not real chocolate. Google it.

Wow, this is long. I’m continuing this while Fras is asleep and I’m listening to Nina Simone and the dishwasher whirl.

Yesterday I made chicken schnitzel. And this is something I must mention because it’s a meal that tastes like it must be a lot of work. And it’s not. You pound down a chicken breast between two pieces of parchment paper. Then your coat it lightly in flour and salt and pepper, rubbing off the excess. You then dip this in one briefly whisked egg and a tbsp of water, wipe off the excess egg and then dip and coat it in panko bread crumbs. You can do this hours before your planning on cooking. Throw it between parchment in the fridge. Then you fry those bad boys in a bit of oil on the stove top. They. Are. Good.

I also made a mushroom sauce for the chicken and some mashed potatoes. While making this I thought it wouldn’t be that great, but it was really good.

Here’s the recipes. This was rambley. I think this blog format may prove dangerous.

Skinny Caesar Dressing

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sandra-lee/chicken-schnitzel-with-mushroom-sauce-recipe.html –> would use a bit less Worcestershire sauce

http://www.skinnytaste.com/garlic-mashed-potatoes-3-ww-points/ —> would not use the chicken stock or milk, made them too thin in my opinion

One thought on “Thursday, 26 May

Leave a Reply

