Thursday, 19 May

My first morning here I woke up around six and was able to watch the sun come up over the farm land that borders our house. Cows roam around this land and you can hear them lowing throughout the day. They eat the grass while these funny looking white birds walk alongside them and search for grub.

 

Last week we ventured into Byron Bay to walk the beach and explore the town. It’s an easy 15 minute drive from our house, just down the highway. Surf was very tame and the water was cold, but it felt good on the feet. We walked all the way to the end of the beach, sat on the rocks for a bit and then did some shopping in the town center. 

IMG_0243

IMG_0252

IMG_0254

The next day Fraser took me out driving so I could get some practice on the left (wrong) side of the road. Things went well, other than me hugging the shoulder of the road a bit more than necessary. I have now grown more custom to it, so it doesn’t feel like I’m playing chicken with oncoming traffic as much. We ended up in a little area called Brunswick Heads and went for a walk down the breakwater.

This created a peaceful little swimming area with very clear water that I really wanted to go swimming in, so we decided to have a proper beach day the next day.

IMG_1285

Around 11am the next day we headed to New Brighton, where Fraser used to live and then walked down the beach to the swimming area (about a 45 minute walk). There were only a couple other people around, so it felt like we had the area to ourselves.

IMG_1300

IMG_1297

IMG_1299

We hung out and swam with the fish for a couple of hours and then decided to head back. On the walk back we were looking directly into the sun and towards the end I started to feel a bit woozy. Back in the car I chugged the remaining water we’d brought and Fras cranked the a/c for me. We then went to the grocery store where Fraser told me I looked like a ghost who was about to faint. Back in the car when things went from bad to worse and I started to get that feeling you get when your body is preparing to throw up.

Luckily Fraser had picked up some produce, so after pulling the tomatoes out of their bag, I proceeded to rid my stomach of all the water I’d consumed in the last half hour. At this point I felt so much better that I was unconcerned I’d just loudly vomited in the car while parked at a busy gas station or that I was holding the contents of said episode in a clear bag.

 

Moral of the story: heat exhaustion is no joke and I need a sun hat.

 

Leave a Reply

